Park Avenue Nursery School – Curriculum

The nursery curriculum is based on the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) statutory framework.
‘The Early Years Foundation Stage sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure the children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life’ – Department for Education, 2014.

The EYFS has four overarching principles that shape practice at Park Avenue Nursery School.

A Unique Child – Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships – Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

Enabling Environments – Children learn to develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers.

Learning and Development – Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.
The areas of learning established in the EYFS are -
Prime areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional.
  • Communication and Language.
  • Physical.

Specific areas:

  • Literacy.
  • Maths.
  • Understanding the World.
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

At Park Avenue Nursery School we implement these areas of learning through a range of activities and experiences

© 2016 Park Avenue Nursery School. All rights reserved